top of page

You just need to start

Updated: Nov 16, 2021

I have really enjoyed hearing the different ways that an ePortfolio was used by both Dr. Harapnuik and Dr. Thibodeaux, not just as professionals but also how they were used in their families. It is a good reminder that there is no set formula for a good ePortfolio. I am a person who likes to have everything completely figured out before showing anyone, but like Dr. Thibodeax said, there is only one way to really create a good ePortfolio, and that is to just start.


What I am most looking forward to with my own ePortfolio is the possibility of sharing ideas and connecting with people. A New Culture of Learning discussed the importance of collaboration and collective learning, and ePortfolios are a powerful way of connecting with students, families, and other professionals in education. Not only can I participate in learning networks to discuss ideas and issues with other people, but with an ePortfolio I can also show them my work to support the collaboration.


Growth Mindset plays a large role in a blended learning environment, and another important benefit of an ePortfolio is to emphasize the process over the product. Teachers often reflect over lessons or units, but an ePortfolio will create the space for the teacher to write a reflective blog that can reinforce the learning and then be easily referenced later. So much of my improvement as a teacher is being able to build off my experience and learning in the classroom, and an ePortfolio has the power to make learning reflections more concrete and functional.



0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page