top of page

The truth about motivation

Updated: Nov 16, 2021

“Very many people go through their whole lives having no sense of what their talents may be, or if they have any to speak of.” Sir Ken Robinson in his TED Talk, “Bring on the Revolution” both touched and broke my heart. I can see the faces of so many teenagers who walk through the halls not knowing their worth or value. They don’t feel successful in a traditional school, and haven’t found a sense of belonging in the extracurricular activities either. This is a failure of public schools, and we need to do better to create learning environments that allow students to explore their talents as well as be celebrated for these differences.

One of my favorite things is when research proves common, popular assumptions to be wrong. In the video, “Daniel Pink’s Drive: The surprising truth about what motivates us” I found myself amazed at the research but not fully surprised about the truth of motivation. I have used the carrot and stick form of motivation at some point throughout my 13 years in education, but even though I have continued to use it, it’s not an effective way to motivate students. Usually students who earn the prize or extra credit would already have earned it without any extra incentive from me. This video really illustrates the power of true motivation, and I am excited to create an environment where autonomy, master and purpose serve as the main motivators for student learning and engagement.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page