top of page

Adopting and Modeling a Growth Mindset

Updated: Nov 16, 2021

Growth Mindset by Carol Dweck was a really powerful book that challenged not only the way I looked at situations but also how I can understand and reach students in my classroom. I am very much results oriented. I have big dreams and like to get started on lots of projects that often times do not get finished. After reading about growth mindset and fixed mindset, I understand that I am so focused on the goal, that any obstacle or challenge frustrates me to the point of walking away. Growth Mindset can really help me embrace the mistakes to not only see projects through but also to truly enjoy the learning process.

Modeling a growth mindset for students will truly be transformative to my students and their learning. Grades have become the central focus of education with all the benchmark tests and high stakes end of year exams, and as a result, my students are not interested in the actual learning but just receiving the grade. The grade becomes their identify, the indicator of their ability, and it limits the effort they will put in on future assignments. If the focus of teaching is to provide effective feedback and encourage growth instead of grades, students will slowly start to gain the confidence to try and fail without it crashing their world. In addition to academics, there are many emotional challenges to being an eighth grader. Building a growth mindset will significantly help teenagers navigate the personal and social changes that they all experience, and as a result make them more resilient and confident to be bold and take risks in uncertain times.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page