top of page

Taking Chances in the Classroom

Updated: Nov 16, 2021

COVA as a learner and COVA as a teacher are a bit intimidating. I remember at our first class, Dr. H told us that we would never stop being a little uncomfortable with the program and with each assignment. While those are not exactly comforting words, I do find a lot of truth and reassurance in them as I dream and create my program that is personal and specific to my world. I see my students’ faces in each assignment, and I can feel the power that authentic learning can have.

Dweck included a quote from Alex Rodriguez that has really stuck with me. He said, “You never stay the same. You either go one way or the other.” That was a big wake up call and motivator to me as a teacher, because I either continue to take risks and incorporate a true COVA learning approach, or I allow my traditional teaching to become more and more ineffective. In terms of taking risks, the article “Personalize your learning environment” was challenging. I love the idea of personalized learning profiles, but I have no idea how to implement that for 150 students each lesson. It might take several more baby steps before I come close to that level of personalized learning, but I know to move my class forward into a COVA learning approach, it is essential that students have a clear understanding of their strengths and challenges.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page